Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Drighlington Primary School

Nurturing, supporting, believing, achieving!

Moorland Road, Bradford
West Yorkshire, BD11 1JY


Headteacher: Mrs Sue Jackson

  1. Our School
  2. Our School
  3. Governors


Our Governors meet all statutory requirements. They have meetings as a full Governing Body at least four times per year. There are three committees and they meet regularly throughout the year. Our committees are:

  • Resources (financial expenditure, buildings, physical resources and community links)
  • Children, Teaching and Learning (pupil well-being, quality of curriculum, progress and achievement)
  • Human Resources (staffing issues)

Governors are well informed about the school, receive regular reports from the school, and understand the school learning data. They work hard to develop the school and ask challenging questions. They self-review and make plans for the future. As a group, they have a range of skills and this contributes well to leadership of the school.

The school does not publish personal contact details for Governors. To contact a Governor, please send a letter to the school, marked "for the attention of... " and it will be passed onto the named Governor.

How to become a Governor

If you are interested in becoming a Governor, please contact the Head Teacher or Chair of Governors to discuss any special skills that you may be able to provide to support and strengthen the Governing Body. You may do this in writing, or by telephone using the contact details provided at the top left hand section of each page on the website. We look forward to hearing from you!

Our Governors:
Head Teacher:

Sue Jackson


Carol Edwards

John Feaster 

Local Authority:

Natalie Felton


Kathryn Farrington


Michelle Rollinson (PCSO)




Lena Matthews (Chair)

Mark Roper (Vice Chair) (Acting Chair)

Sue Roberts (Acting Vice Chair)

Andy Geldard

Sarah Cole

Hillary Holmes

David Hulme



Nicola Howe

Key Roles:

Pay committee - HR/Resources committees

Child Protection  Sarah Cole

SEN Carol Edwards

CLA Hillary Holmes

Training Sue Roberts

Pupil Premium Mark Roper

Induction Sue Jackson

Complaints – Chair of Governors

SIP Chair and Vice

H&S Mark Roper

Anti-bullying Natalie Felton

School Council Carol Edwards/Hillary Holmes

JCC to be confirmed

EYFS Kathryn Farrington


Governing Body Committees:


Mark Roper (Chair)

Natalie Felton (Vice Chair)

Andy Geldard

Sue Jackson

John Kehoe (in Attendance)

Christine Tomenson (in Attendance)

Children, Teaching and Learning:

Sarah Cole (Chair)

Sue Roberts (Vice Chair)

Kathryn Farrington

Hillary Holmes

Carol Edwards

Sue Jackson

Human Resources:

Lena Matthews (Chair)

Sue Jackson

Andy Geldard

Sue Roberts

David Hulme

Annual Governance Statement for the Governing Body  

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the 3 core strategic functions of the Governing Body of Drighlington Primary School are:

  1. To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  2. To hold the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  3. To oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governance arrangements

The Governing Body of Drighlington Primary School was re-constituted in September 2015 and consists of the following members; The Head Teacher, 1 Staff Governor, 2 Elected Parent Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor, 8 Co-opted Governors and 1 Associate Governor.

Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are people who, in the opinion of the Governing Body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

The Full Governing Body meets at least four times per year, and we also have committees who meet to consider different aspects of the school in detail. Here at Drighlington Primary school, we have a Resources Committee, which focuses on finance and premises matters, a human Resources committee, which focuses on staffing and personnel matters, and a Children, Teaching and Learning Committee who focus on all aspects relating to children and learning. Each of the committees meets at least three times per year. Minutes of meetings are available on request.

Attendance record of Governors

Governors have excellent attendance at meetings and we have never cancelled a meeting because it was not “quorate” (the number of governors needed to ensure that legal decisions can be made).

The work of the Governing Body

The Governing Body has had a particularly busy year so far, focusing on continuous school improvement and utilization of school budget to ensure that all children are given the best possible opportunity to meet their full potential. The Governing Body ensures that statutory requirements are met by having in place clear plans within their Governing Body Responsibility and Planning Framework e.g. cycle for review of policies. This year the Governing Body agreed to aim for Quality Mark for School Governors and are working towards this national accreditation. All Governors attend relevant training to ensure that they are informed when making decisions about the school.

The Resources Committee constantly review the maintenance and development of the school premises, and make decisions about how the school should use its budget. They take recommendations from the Human Resources and Children, Teaching and Learning Committee when making decisions about expenditure. We continue to focus on “vulnerable groups” of children and how the Pupil Premium Grant is being spent by the school to promote at least good outcomes.

The Human Resources Committee monitors staff performance and assess the staffing needs of the school. They also ensure that legally required polices are in place to support staff management.

Children, Teaching and Learning Committee monitor and discuss key data from the results of pupil achievement and progress, so that we can be sure that the school is on track to fulfill its ambitious targets for all pupils. We also focus on “vulnerable groups” of children e.g. Pupil Premium.

Our Governors aim to be approachable and can be contacted via the school.

Reviewed June 2016


Attendance at Full Governing Body Meetings

8th December 2016:


Lena Matthews (Acting Chair), Sue Roberts, Sue Jackson (Head Teacher), Kathryn Farrington, John Feaster, Natalie Felton


Hillary Holmes, Carol Edwards, Mark Roper, Andy Geldard, Sarah Cole, Nicola Abidi

In Attendance: 

Edwin Kirkwood - Clerk, Governor Support Service

29th September 2016:


Mark Roper (Acting Chair), Sue Roberts (Acting Vice Chair), Sue Jackson (Head Teacher), Carol Edwards, 

Kathryn Farrington, John Feaster, Natalie Felton, Hillary Holmes, David Hulme


Lena Matthews; Sarah Cole; Andy Geldard and Nicola Abidi

In Attendance: 

Edwin Kirkwood - Clerk, Governor Support Service

8th December 2016:


Lena Matthews (Chair), Sue Roberts, Sue Jackson (Head Teacher), Kathryn Farrington, John Feaster, Natalie Felton, 


Mark Roper (Vice Chair), Sarah Cole, Andy Geldard, Hillary Holmes, David Hulme, Carol Edwards and Nicola Abidi

In Attendance: 

Edwin Kirkwood - Clerk, Governor Support Service

18th January 2017:


Lena Matthews (Chair), Sue Roberts, Sue Jackson (Head Teacher), Kathryn Farrington, John Feaster, Natalie Felton, Andrew Geldard, Mark Roper (Vice Chair)


Hillary Holmes

In Attendance: 

Edwin Kirkwood - Clerk, Governor Support Service